Good morning! I’m starting this day with a lot of enthusiasm and a new blog post. I got a new haircut and I’m very happy with the result. I will also tell you all about my hair care routine, how I keep my hair healthy and hydrated and what products I use. So let’s get into the details.

It’s been waaay to long since my last haircut. I wanted to grow my hair and I always feel that it grows too slow. Usually, I have to cut the same length of hair that grew since my last haircut. This time I thought that I could leave more between haircuts, so it will grow out more, but it didn’t. It just got more damaged at the ends. So take advice from me and cut your hair periodically, because growing damaged hair won’t help at all.

I went to my favorite salon in Timisoara, Breathless. I love Laura Rad and I always get an appointment with her because she always knows the best for my hair. What I like most when Laura cuts my hair, besides the fact that she is a very nice and open person, is that the cuts are very versatile. My hair will look amazing straight, curled or left in its natural wavy form, without much effort.

Last haircut:

12665779_1209274805754062_1843947398_n-0

My hair before:

My hair after:

Afterwards I left the salon with some goodies from Nashi, because that’s what she used on my hair and I just loved their smell and the fact that they have natural ingredients. I can’t wait to try them at home and come back with a review.

nashi

Now, let’s talk about my hair care routine. I have a lot of hair. It’s long, very dense and naturally wavy/curly. The only disturbing problem with it is that my scalp is very sensitive and I often get dandruff or an itchy scalp if the products I use on my hair are not appropriate.

My hair care routine is pretty minimal, but I feel it is effective for me and my hair. I usually wash my hair two times a week, sometimes three times if I work out more often. I start by combing my hair before getting in the shower. I apply shampoo two times and rinse well in between and after. When I have a more sensitive scalp period, I use La Roche Posay Kerium DS Anti-dandruff Intensive Micro-Exfoliating Treatment-Shampoo for persistent dandruff and intense itchiness. I found this stuff really works for me. It’s a treatment, so you should use it twice a week for 6 weeks (its only a 125 ml bottle, so it’s the right amount for this period). When I finish this I switch to a frequent use shampoo. I tried many shampoos and my current go to is Head & Shoulders Anti Dandruff Shampoo Cool Menthol. I really like the way it cleans my hair, it smells really nice and leaves my hair smooth.

Afterwards, I use a good hair mask. I try to remove the excess water from my hair with a towel and then I apply the mask on the ends and I clip my hair up into a bun. I love the Kerastase Nutritive Oleo-Relax Hair Mask. You can really see the difference when you’re using it. I leave it for 2-3 minutes on the hair, then I let the hair down and start combing it with a wide tooth comb, to uniformly apply the mask all over the ends and detangle the hair. You need to be very careful with combing wet hair, because it is fragile and can break easily.

There are moments when I’m in a hurry and then I will switch the mask with a nourishing conditioner. My favorite one is Garnier Ultra Doux Rich Nourishing Conditioner with Avocado Oil and Shea Butter. This makes my hair soft and detangles it very well and it only takes a minute to work.

I always end the rinsing process with colder water, to lock in the moisture. Then I put my hair in a normal or a microfiber towel. I leave it like this for as long as it takes to get ready with other stuff like makeup, cutting my nails etc. Then I take it off and apply a heat protection spray and a leave-in treatment/serum. I currently use Tigi Catwalk Straight Collection Haute Iron Spray Heat Protection Spray, CHI Silk Infusion Silk Reconstructing Complex and Biosilk Silk Therapy. I used to love the old version of the Tigi heat protection and its smell, but the new one not so much. Also, between CHI Silk Infusion and Biosilk Silk Therapy, which are made by the same producer, Farouk, I would definitely choose Biosilk. I find it more lightweight on the hair, gives better results, leaves hair very smooth and shiny and smells really good.

I usually leave my hair to air dry if I have the time, otherwise I dry my hair, insisting on the roots, for about 5 minutes but no more. I try to use the hair dryer as little as possible because it breaks my natural curls into a big fluffy mess and I also get very bored by the process. For styling, I always use a flat iron, for both straightening or curling my hair. I got to love Remington for their hair dryers, flat irons and curling wands. I have a Sapphire Pro Dryer, a Pearl Flat Iron and a Pearl Wand from them. All are amazing quality and give great results.

This is all about my hair care. I will definitely try to get a haircut at least once every 3-4 months from now on and I can’t wait to thy the Nashi products. Do you have any favorite products? How do you take care of your hair?

