I was thinking for a while about making a comparison between Biosilk Silk Therapy Original and CHI Silk Infusion. But recently I added the Moroccanoil Treatment For All Hair Types to the collection, and I wanted to test and write about it also.

I have very thick, dense, long and wavy hair. I cannot live without hair treatments and oils because it would get dry and impossible to manage. I started using various products for my hair in the past, searched for good hair masks, tried a lot of detangling products and leave in conditioners, but the results were… meh, whatever…

5 years ago, when I discovered the Biosilk Silk Therapy Original Treatment, I was truly impressed. It only takes a small amount to put in the hair to give you the best results. I used it every single time after I washed my hair, sometimes even between washes. I used it so much that I finished about 7 bottles of it since then. It was the holy grail product for me!

About three years ago I heard about CHI Silk Infusion and all that hype around it. It was not so easy to find in stores, but I finally managed to buy it a year ago. I knew that it’s made by Farouk, the same producer of the Biosilk one and I was curious which one I would like more.

There was still one treatment to try on my wish list: the Moroccanoil Treatment. Two months ago I finally found it in a store in the mini version and I bought it. The bigger bottles were available for a while by then, but I didn’t want to buy it in the big bottle.

So this is my opinion about each of them:

Moroccanoil Treatment For All Hair Types

PROS:

  • it’s a dry oil, it’s not greasy
  • for all hair types
  • doesn’t weight down the hair at all
  • you only need a very small, pea size, amount of product to distribute it evenly on the hair, starting with the ends
  • it hydrates & nourishes the hair
  • gives hair a nice, smooth texture
  • prevents hair from tangling
  • gives shine to the hair
  • tames the frizz
  • can be applied on wet or dry hair
  • smells divine

CONS:

  • harder to use it from the bottle, you have to open and close the cap and it’s easy to pour more than you need if you are not careful
  • 65-90 lei for a 25 ml bottle

Biosilk Silk Therapy Original

PROS:

  • it has a gel/oil texture, it’s not greasy
  • for all hair types
  • doesn’t weight down the hair at all
  • you only need a very small, pea size, amount of product to distribute it evenly on the hair, starting with the ends
  • gives hair a nice, smooth texture
  • prevents hair from tangling
  • gives shine to the hair
  • tames the frizz
  • can be applied on wet or dry hair
  • smells divine
  • the bottle cap is very easy to use

CONS:

  • contains silicones
  • doesn’t give long term hydrating & nourishing results
  • 80 lei for a 67 ml bottle (exclusive in Sensiblu)

CHI Silk Infusion

PROS:

  • it has a gel/oil texture, it’s not greasy
  • for all hair types
  • you only need a very small, pea size, amount of product to distribute it evenly on the hair, starting with the ends
  • gives hair a nice, smooth texture
  • prevents hair from tangling
  • tames the frizz
  • can be applied on wet or dry hair
  • the bottle cap is very easy to use

CONS:

  • might weight down the hair if using more than needed
  • contains silicones
  • doesn’t give long term hydrating & nourishing results
  • the smell doesn’t appeal to everyone
  • 70 lei for a 59 ml bottle

 

In my opinion, those three products are very similar in what they can do. Depending on what your preferences are, I would recommend the Moroccanoil Treatment for a smooth, hydrated hair with long term results and Biosilk Silk Therapy if you are searching for that perfect, glowing, silky smooth and healthy hair in an instant. I like to use the Moroccanoil Treatment after washing my hair and Biosilk Silk Therapy to give it the polished look and prevent the hair from tangling and external factors. But if I had to go on a deserted island and took only one product, that would be Biosilk Silk Therapy!

